National Gallery Visit

Joseph Mallord William Turner – Rain, Steam, and Speed – The Great Western Railway (1844)

I think that this painting appeals to me because I like that the loosely but expresses brushstrokes throughout the whole painting. All the colours in the painting are combined because of the overlaps of the brushstrokes. In this painting the colours used are warn neutral colours, but the sky does have cool tones.

The image shows a train running to its destination, in the background on the left there is an arched bridge. The surroundings appear to be quite misty. Because the painting seems to be based on a misty day there is limited lighting, it’s almost like a blur.

If I was to re-create this painting but in a photography form, I feel that it would have to be a cloudy/ misty day, in Scotland (Glenfinnan Viaduct), and I would want a shutter speed short of setting for my camera.

I think I was drawn to this painting because it’s a landscape. This landscape painting appealed to me because of the colour and brushstrokes. I like the movement coming from the train and that it’s dark brown colour, which draws my eyes on the train and track, but because of the brushstrokes it fades in with the background which ties everything together.

 

turner

Rembrandt – Self Portrait at The Age Of 63 (1669)

I think that this painting appeals to me because I like the colours and the way he has painted the lighting on his face. In this painting, there are lots of warm colours, like the browns and dark burnt reds which sets apart the background and himself. In the painting  I like the soft brushstrokes which also softly blends well with the background. I does have a 3D feel to it because of how he painted the shadows, it doesn’t seem like a flat painting.

The main feature that stands out to me is how he shown the lighting. The lighting appears on his forehead, and slightly on his face. The reason why that stands out for me because at the age of 63 he painted the wrinkles on his face also he also painted himself in a reflective mood. My eyes go straight to his face because the colours he uses are different the background and his clothing. Also I like that his eyes are the darkest colour in the whole portrait, it draws my eyes to his.

rembrandt

 

Published by

Jenna Patel

Student at Ravensbourne University, studying Digital Photography.

Leave a Reply

